Level 4 Certificate in Learning, Development and Pedagogy.

Level 4 Certificate in Learning, Development and Pedagogy.

The objective of the Level 4 Certificate in Learning, Development and Pedagogy is a teaching qualification which has a teaching/training practice requirement. It is an ‘in service’ qualification designed for those working or wishing to work as teachers/trainers in England.

All learners must have access to 36 hours of teaching and there must be a minimum of three observations of practice, totalling a minimum of three hours. .

The course contents include the following units below:

Unit 1: Evaluating learning programmes.

The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the principles of evaluating learning programmes and use evaluation methods and data to understand how these can be used to improve learning programmes.

Unit 2: Develop and prepare resources for learning and development.

The aim of this unit is to assess a learning and development practitioner’s competence in developing and preparing resources to support learning and development. ‘Develop’ covers preparing and producing resources ‘from scratch’ as well as adapting existing resources to meet the needs of learners. ‘Resources’ also cover the preparation of the learning environment, learning materials and equipment used to support learning. Examples
of resources include technical equipment, IT-based learning, handouts, workbooks and visits to places of interest. ‘Practitioner’ means anyone with a learning and development responsibility as part of their role.

Unit 3: Develop learning and development programmes.

The unit aims to enable learners to carry out action research in an area of professional practice. It includes understanding the nature and purpose of action research, conducting action research and presenting the outcomes. It also involves evaluating own practice in relation to action research.

The objective of the RQF Level 4 Certificate in Learning, Development and Pedagogy
qualification is to give the learner the underpinning knowledge, understanding and skills
needed to develop their knowledge, understanding and skills in terms of learning
programmes, development of resources and their subject specific pedagogy.

This includes the planning and delivering of schemes of work and sessions, negotiation of individual goals, different teaching and learning strategies, communication issues and developing and evaluating one’s own pedagogical practice in their selected subject area.

This qualifications at Level 4 represent practical knowledge, skills, capabilities and
competences that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent to Higher National
Certificates (HNC) and Year 1 of a three-year UK Bachelor's degree programme.

It is a qualification recognised by the Awarding Body, approved and regulated by Ofqual (Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) . It can be completed in 4-6 months.

This qualification consists of 5 mandatory units, 36 credits, 360 hours Total Qualification Time (TQT) and the recommended Guided Learning Hours (GLH) for this qualification is a minimum of 125 hours.

All fees paid for the qualification include:

1.e-portfolio allocation.
2.Tutor support.
3. Research and support materials.
4. Certificate issue.
5. Learner support if raised and identified.
6. FREE NUS / TOTUM discount card.
7. When on an instalment plan there is no interest rate charged.
8. Upon signing up for the qualification an agreed break in learning and qualification can be issued upon request as soon as it is identified and raised.

Course structure

 Below is a list of mandatory units that make up the qualification:
  • Evaluating learning programmes (3 credits).
  • Develop and prepare resources for learning and development (6 credits).
  • Develop learning and development programmes (6 credits).
  • Manage learning and development in groups (6 credits).
  • Action Learning to Support Development of Subject Specific Pedagogy (15 credits).

  • Entry requirement

    •Being 19 years old or older at the beginning of the course .
    • Minimum core of literacy, language, numeracy and ICT.

    •A minimum of a Level 3 qualification in their own area of specialism.

    Method of Assessment:
    This qualification is internally assessed and quality assured by Centre staff then externally quality assured. This is a knowledge and demonstration base qualification.

    Both the competence and knowledge evidence includes demonstration of practice and written work completed then submitted online via the e-portfolio system, assignment tasks and where possible reports from work can also be provided while considering GDPR as part of assessment of direct observation.

    To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, you must provide evidence to demonstrate that you have fulfilled all the learning outcomes and meet the standards specified by all assessment criteria. Judgement that you have successfully fulfilled the assessment criteria is made by your allocated Assessor.

    Support facility available:
    24/7 online access to e-portfolio available upon registration, including planned Tutor support.
    Hybrid teaching and learning takes place which include face to face where possible and virtual online classroom session.
    Research and support materials available to learner.

    Online e-learning platform is used to support learner while on the programme.
    Tutors are all sector expert with over 30 years combined experience of working and delivering within the Sector.

    Method of Payment:
    Employer funding and invoicing.
    Self funding available with the option of an instalment plan.

    Contact us